1993 Flashback: 311's 'Music' Ft. 'Hydroponic' & 'My Stoney Baby'

On Feb. 9, 1993, the debut album by five guys from Omaha who'd moved to Los Angeles was released. 311's mix of rock, rap and reggae on Music intoxicated their new fan base.

The album features singer Nick Hexum, rapper S.A. Martinez, guitarist Tim Mahoney, bassist P-Nut and drummer Chad Sexton. Six songs in, the dense crunch of "Hydroponic" ("Did it because we toke up…") is followed by the mellow funk jam, "My Stoney Baby." Both remain staples in 311's repertoire, along with "Who's Got the Herb," recorded for Hempilation: Freedom Is NORML in 1995.

RELATED: #Hempilation25: Celebrating the NORML Benefit Albums

Twenty-five decades later, 311 remain intact (no personnel changes), a rarity for bands of any era.


Nine More Seminal Albums from 1993

• Black Sunday - Cypress Hill
• Doggystyle - Snoop Dogg
• Enter the W-Tang (36 Chambers) - Wu-Tang Clan
• In Utero - Nirvana
• Vs. - Pearl Jam
• Siamese Dream - Smashing Pumpkins
• Tuesday Night Music Club - Sheryl Crow
• A Storm in Heaven - The Verve
• Last Splash - The Breeders

This article was orignally posted on Dec. 10, 2013, It has been updated.


Become a Patron!


Steve Bloom

Steve Bloom

Publisher of CelebStoner.com, former editor of High Times and Freedom Leaf and co-author of Pot Culture and Reefer Movie Madness.