2013 DPA Achievement Award Winners

Drug War Chronicle reporter/editor Phil Smith received the Edward Brecher for his consistent journalism. (Doug McVay)

Awards were given out in eight categories last night at the Drug Policy Alliance conference in Denver. The winners included Phil Smith, Steph Sherer, Mason Tvert, Alison Holcomb and the Seattle Police Department, presumably for, among other things, their cheeky Doritios giveaway at this summer's Hempfest.

The awardees are:

• Richard J. Dennis Drugpeace Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Drug Policy Reform
The Global Commission on Drug Policy

• Edward M. Brecher Award for Achievement in the Field of Media
Philip M. Smith
*Smith writes and edits the Drug War Chronicle news published at stopthedrugwar.org

• Justice Gerard Le Dain Award forAchievement in the Field of Law
Alison Holcomb; and Steve Fox, Mason Tvert and Brian Vicente
•all four led statewide legalization campaigns in 2012; Holcomb in Washington State and the other three in Colorado

• Robert C. Randall Award for Achievement in the Field of Citizen Action
Lorenzo Jones and Steph Sherer
*Jones is executive director of A Better Way Foundation; Sherer is executive director of Americans for Safe Access

• Alfred R. Lindesmith Award for Achievement int he Field of Scholarship
Paul Armentano
*Armentano is deputy director of NORML

• H.B. Spear Award in the Field of Control and Enforcement
The Seattle Police Department

• Norman E. Zinberg Award for Achievement in the Field of Medicine
The Service Intervention in Addictive Behaviors and Dependencies (SICAD), a branch of Portugal’s Ministry of Health, and its director, Dr. João Castel-Branco Goulão

• Dr. Andrew Weil Award for Achievement in the Field of Drug Education

Steve Bloom

Steve Bloom

Publisher of CelebStoner.com, former editor of High Times and Freedom Leaf and co-author of Pot Culture and Reefer Movie Madness.