Three Active Players Sign Pot Pardon Petition with Drake, 2 Chainz and 150 More

Active players - San Diego Padres’ Keone Kela (left) and Tennessee Titans’ Julio Jones (right) - signed the petition calling for the release of federal cannabis prisoners sent to President Biden.

Thirty-five rappers and athletes have signed on to a letter urging President Biden "to grant a full, complete and unconditional pardon to all persons subject to federal criminal or civil enforcement on the basis of non-violent marijuana offenses."

According to Last Prisoner Project, there are more than 40,000 pot prisoners in the U.S. 

In March, CelebStoner reported, as of 2018, "there were 22,390 cannabis prisoners sentenced to state penitentiaries and 9,511 to federal facilities, adding up 31,901 prisoners, a 25% decline since 2004."

The letter is directed at the 10,000 or so federal pot prisoners.

"The harms of incarceration are obvious, but the pains of federal marijuana convictions transcend prison walls, making it more difficult for someone to get a job, access affordable housing, and receive an education," it states. "A conviction can forever limit an individual’s constitutional rights and can put the American dream further out of reach for an entire family. Enough is enough. No one should be locked up in federal prison for marijuana. No one should continue to bear the scarlet letter of a federal conviction for marijuana offenses."

Read the letter here.

There are more than 150 signees, including celebrities, athletes, producers, directors, public officials, advocates, academics, business leaders and former members of law enforcement. What's particularly interesting is three current major-league players signed on. 

"The harms of incarceration are obvious, but the pains of federal marijuana convictions transcend prison walls."


The celebs, athletes, officials and advocates include are:

2 Chainz

Weldon Angelos

Baby Bash

Nate Bradley

Corvain Cooper

Damon Dash

Dave East


E.D.I. Mean

John Forté

Neill Franklin


Kevin Garnett

Diane Goldstein


Al Harrington

Badou Jack


Stephen Jackson

Alice Johnson

Gary Johnson

Dale Sky Jones

Julio Jones*

Keone Kela**

Killer Mike

Kodak Black

Marc Levin

Lil Baby

Lil Yachty

Louis Lombardi


Erik Luna


Meek Mill

Mopreme Shakur

Grover Norquist

Amy Povah



Deion Sanders***

R.J. Smith


Stevie J

Tee Grizzley

Dante Thomas


Shaleen Title

Tory Lanez

Ty Dollar $ign

Waka Flocka Flame

John Wall****

Young Buck

Young Noble

Young Scooter

* Currently playing for the Tennessee Titans

** Currently playing for the San Diego Padres

*** Inducted into NFL Hall of Fame in 2011

**** Currently playing for the Houston Rockets


Become a Patron!


Steve Bloom

Steve Bloom

Publisher of, former editor of High Times and Freedom Leaf and co-author of Pot Culture and Reefer Movie Madness.