30 Years of Phish

Page McConnell, Trey Anastasio, Jon Fishman and Mike Gordon.

AsĀ Phish roll around the country on their 30th anniversary tour, it's high time to take a look back at the Vermont jammers' illustrious career.


1983 - University of Vermont students Trey Anastasio, Mike Gordon, Jon Fishman and Jeff Holdsworth form Phish.

1985 - Page McConnell joins the group.

1986 - Singer/guitarist Holdsworth leaves the group.

1988 - Junta, their first album, self-released.

1990 - Lawn Boy self-released.

1992 - Signed by Elektra Records; A Picture of Nectar released; headline the first H.O.R.D.E. tour.

1993 - Rift released.

1994 - Hoist released.

1995 - A Live One released.

1996 - Billy Breathes released; Clifford Ball festival in New York.

1997 - The Great Went festival in Maine.

1998 - The Story of the Ghost released; Lemonwheel festival in Maine.

1999 - Camp Oswego festival in New York; Big Cypress festival in Florida.

2000 - Farmhouse released; first hiatus begins; Bittersweet Motel documentary released.

2002 - Appear on The Simpsons; band returns for New Year's Eve show at Madison Square Garden.

2003 - Round Room released; It festival in Vermont.

2004 - Undermind released; Coventry festival in Vermont; second hiatus begins.

2005 - Appear on South Park.

2006 - Anastasio charged with heroin possession in New York.

2009 - Band returns; Joy released; Festival 8 in California.

2011 - Super Ball IX festival in New York.

Steve Bloom

Steve Bloom

Publisher of CelebStoner.com, former editor of High Times and Freedom Leaf and co-author of Pot Culture and Reefer Movie Madness.