Koffee: The First Woman to Win the Reggae Grammy Award

Dancehall singer Koffee, winner of the 2020 Grammy award for Best Reggae Album

Newcomer Koffee became the first women to win the Grammy for Best Reggae Album at the 2020 award show on January 26. All of the previous 34 winners were male.

This year's nominees were:

Rapture by Koffee

This five-song EP by the 19-year-old female dancehall singer (her real name is Mikayla Simpson) features the title track and "Toast." She's also the youngest performer to ever receive a Best Reggae Album nomination.

As I Am by Julian Marley

The fourth album by Bob Marley's fifth-born son has earned him his second Grammy nominination for Best Reggae Album. It features collabs with Shaggy, Beenie Man and Spragga Benz, as well as the ganja track, "Chalice Load."

The Final Battle: Sly & Robbie vs. Roots Radics by Sly & Robbie & Roots Radics

It's a great idea: Jamaica's two best session groups joining together on 12 tracks employing a virtual reggae who's who of guests, including Toots Hibbert, Lee "Scratch" Perry, Luciano and Pablo Moses. Sly & Robbie won the reggae Grammy in 1998 and have been nominated 12 times.

Mass Manipulation by Steel Pulse

Steel Pulse's first album in 15 years was worth the wait. Frontman David Hinds has kept the band going since 1975 and continues to act as the conscience of reggae on songs like "Cry Cry Blood" and "Thank the Rebels" among the 17 tracks on this deep collection. Steel Pulse won the reggae Grammy in 1986 and have been nominated nine times.

More Work to be Done by Third World

The reggae hitmakers get a lift from producer Damian Marley on their 22nd album since being founded in 1973. Guests include Chronixx, Taurus Riley and Marley. Suprisingly, Third World have never won a Grammy despite nine nominations.

The previous Best Reggae Album winners are:

• 2018: Sting & Shaggy for 44/876

• 2017: Damian Marley for Stony Hill 

• 2016: Ziggy Marley for Ziggy Marley  

• 2015: Morgan Heritage for Strictly Roots

• 2014: Ziggy Marley for Fly Rasta 

• 2013: Ziggy Marley for Ziggy Marley in Concert 

• 2012: Jimmy Cliff for Rebirth 

• 2011: Stephen Marley for Revelation Pt. 1: The Root of Life

• 2010: Buju Banton for Before the Dawn

• 2009: Stephen Marley for Mind Control - Acoustic 

• 2008: Burning Spear for Jah Is Real 

• 2007: Stephen Marley for Mind Control

• 2006: Ziggy Marley for Love Is My Religion

• 2005: Damian Marley for Welcome to Jamrock

• 2004: Toots & the Maytals for True Love

• 2003: Sean Paul for Dutty Rock

• 2002: Lee "Scratch" Perry for Jamaican E.T.

• 2001: Damian Marley for Halfway Tree 

• 2000: Beenie Man for Art and Life,

• 1999: Burning Spear for Calling Rastafari

• 1998: Sly & Robbie for Friends

• 1997: Ziggy Marley & the Melody Makers for Fallen Is Babylon 

• 1996: Bunny Wailer for Hall of Fame: A Tribute to Bob Marley's 50th Anniversary

• 1995: Shaggy for Bombastic

• 1994: Bunny Wailer for Crucial! Roots Classics

• 1993: Inner Circle for Bad Boys,

• 1992: Shabba Ranks for X-tra Naked,

• 1991: Shabba Ranks for As Raw as Ever

• 1990: Bunny Wailer for Time Will Tell: A Tribute to Bob Marley

• 1989: Ziggy Marley & the Meloidy Makers for One Bright Day 

• 1988: Ziggy Marley & the Melody Makers for Conscious Party 

• 1987: Peter Tosh for No Nuclear War,

• 1986: Steel Pulse for Babylon the Bandit,

• 1985: Jimmy Cliff for Cliff Hanger

• 1984: Black Uhuru for Anthem 

Check out all of the 62nd Grammy Awards winners and nominees here.

Steve Bloom

Steve Bloom

Publisher of CelebStoner.com, former editor of High Times and Freedom Leaf and co-author of Pot Culture and Reefer Movie Madness.